Join trakAx on Facebook
 
   
 
How to add an Old Grainy Film effect to your footage using trakAxPC Pro
Posted: 20 April 2010 04:57 PM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1080
Joined  2007-07-30

Hi

In this video I show you how you can create an old film effect on your footage using trakAxPC Pro. In the video I explain how you can control the video brightness of clips in order to blend different pieces of footage together and how you can add in a time leader at the beginning to give it that authentic look.

The Main Video is from my Sanyo Camcorder which I shot in HD Mp4.

I used YouTube Downloader HD in order to download some of the grainy effect footage from YouTube (free):

http://www.youtubedownloaderhd.com/

You can use the new version Real Player by Real Networks and convert to MP4: (free)

http://eu.real.com/music/

You can purchase high quality stock footage from sites like iStockphoto as well

http://www.istockphoto.com/

If you wish to see the videos in a bigger screen just click on the YouTube Window while it is playing

Here is the video I made:

And here is how I created it:

I hope this video is of help and if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards
Cormac

 Signature 

Cormac - the TrakAx.com Team
--------------------------------------
http://www.trakax.com | PC | MOBILE | CONTENT
--------------------------------------
Twitter | Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2010 10:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1080
Joined  2007-07-30

How to create a old grainy green 8mm look to your footage

Here is an update on the Old Grain Film Effect Video.

If you want to create an old green 8MM look to your video you can add a sepia effect or a tinge effect. You also add both if you like:

If you would like to see the in bigger screen , click inside the YouTube video while it is playing

Here is the finished video:

Here is how I did it:

Best regards
Cormac

 Signature 

Cormac - the TrakAx.com Team
--------------------------------------
http://www.trakax.com | PC | MOBILE | CONTENT
--------------------------------------
Twitter | Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 April 2011 11:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2011-04-13

I just stumbled on this thread and I was wondering if there was a built in way to add static to your audio, to further sell the effect. If not, can a static track be layered to produce a similar effect, like in DAWs like Ableton Live and Logic?

 Signature 

My YouTube Music Channel
Like my videos? Subscribe!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 April 2011 01:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1080
Joined  2007-07-30

Hi Alex

There is no built in audio static effect but you can alter the audio using the audio effects that come installed with the application. A particularly nice one is the Blue Cat Triple EQ effect. You can have multiple audio effects placed in the same area.

To add an effect, please see our wiki on this topic with a video included:
http://www.trakax.com/software/wiki/Category:Audio_and_Video_Effects/

Another option would be to place the static audio track to run under the main audio track and then place an volume envelope on the static track. With a volume envelope you can control the volume levels of the static, increasing and decreasing as you wish.

To learn more about volume envelopes, please see our wiki with a video included:
http://www.trakax.com/software/wiki/Category:Envelopes::Inserting_Nodes_to_manipulate_the_Volume_&_Pan_Levels/

I hope this helps and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions.

Best regards
Cormac

 Signature 

Cormac - the TrakAx.com Team
--------------------------------------
http://www.trakax.com | PC | MOBILE | CONTENT
--------------------------------------
Twitter | Facebook

Profile
 
 
   
 
 
‹‹ Webcam      Can i do this using trakax? ››